Blue Barn Farm

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Cali Faye Olivia top (and upcoming projects)

First of all…Did you see me? Did you see me? Did you see me? My easy cap sleeve tee was one of the featured tops over at made by rae for the spring top sewalong. I was so excited! Unfortunately, this week has been unproductive in the sewing arena. I needed two days to recover from Easter madness. Add in there a trip to the dentist for three kiddos, planning a birthday getaway next week, and getting ready for family visiting this weekend. Sigh. I dislike being busy. All I managed to accomplish was this Olivia top from Cali Faye Collection.

 

cali faye tunic

 

cali faye tunic

 

I absolutely love the way it turned out!! I will tweak the fit a bit next time I sew with this pattern but I most definitely will sew it again. I decided on the matching leggings with the patches on a whim. The patches were my idea but the leggings were these. I think this is my new favorite leggings pattern! Simple and awesome fit for my girls. I also made a matching pink plaid set for my other daughter and failed to take pics. Trust me, it was cute. I’ve been compiling my fabrics and patterns for my next sewing blitz, which may be another week away due to our little family getaway next week. Here are my choices to inspire you:

 

shirts

 

Going from left to right: I really want to make myself a top for the sewalong with this red chambray. I can’t decide on the pattern though. Any suggestions? I did think about a washi top modified for nursing. Next up is a lightweight cotton plaid to make my husband a shirt with this Colette pattern. Slightly nervous here. He’s picky and all. I haven’t sewn for him, though I’ve made enough boys shirts to be comfortable with the idea. I really want to start sewing for the husband. He SO thrilled. Heh heh heh

 

elsa

 

 

Next is this gorgeous set of walmart fabric. Yes, I’m being ironic. Any guesses as to what I’m making? Two Elsa dresses will make me ultra popular with my girlies.

 

rompers

 

Finally, baby girl needs some rompers for the warmer weather. I just love these fabrics. The top two are Art Gallery Fabrics designed by Bonnie Christine. Have you seen these? I just love them all. Of course she is from my town so I feel like I know her. I shop all the time at her Mama’s store. The fabric on the bottom is some Moda print that I really liked. I picked up the Kwik Sew pattern because I was lazy and didn’t feel like the mental strain of designing my own romper pattern. On another note, I’m seriously considering getting another sewing machine. A Juki industrial strength machine. It would be a work horse. Something I could sew into the ground. Which is sort of what I need since I literally sew every day. Which brings me to another topic…the comment/question I get most often is: “How do you find time to sew with five kids!” I have answers! And tips for sewing quickly and efficiently. But those will have to wait for the next post.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2014 by .
Sanae Ishida

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Wiksten

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Made By Rae

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

skirt as top

suō ergo sum :: i sew, therefore i am

Night Knitter

another knitting and sewing blog

probablyactually.wordpress.com/

where i talk about the stuff i make

