Blue Barn Farm

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Spring Top Sewalong–Jocole Easy Cap Sleeve Tee

Spring-Top-Banner-2014

Im taking a short break from Easter sewing to post a few pics of a top I recently sewed for myself. I’m participating in the Spring Top Challenge by Made By Rae. Which is so fun!! I rarely sew for myself. This is usually because I’m sewing something or other for the five little ones. However after the baby was born (three months ago) I surveyed my closet and realized I needed some major help! My favorite items were growing tattered or stretched out…due to trying to force them to work as maternity when they really weren’t meant for that. Also, I’m petite so buying clothes from the store poses some challenges. I end up having the best luck in the juniors department as far as fit goes. However, junior department tops tend to be too tight and unforgiving of my post partum baby bump. Juniors shorts are too…well, short. And of course pants are too long. So, I decided that this year it is just ridiculous for me to shop for my clothes when I can make them! Besides, the satisfaction of wearing something I’ve sewn is beyond compare.

jocole cap sleeve tee

jocole cap sleeve tee

I found the pattern for this Jocole Easy Cap Sleeve Tee from gotopatterns.com. I really like the ease of the construction. The top is fitted which is flattering, but you can make the lower half of the shirt wider so that it hides the unflattering bulges. For this top, I took my measurements and used a size small for the upper bodice and a medium for the lower bodice. When I traced out the pattern I used my curved dressmakers ruler to adjust between the two sizes. It was easy and came together really fast! I used my serger for the seaming and hooked my sewing machine up with a stretch twin needle for the hem and topstitching along the binding. I found the knit on fabric.com. It’s the same knit I’m using for the girls for their Easter leggings and cardigans. This knit went a long way! Please forgive the blurry photos. That’s what you get when your photo assistant (the husband) is frying bacon in between taking pics.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2014 by .
Sanae Ishida

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Wiksten

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Made By Rae

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

skirt as top

suō ergo sum :: i sew, therefore i am

Night Knitter

another knitting and sewing blog

probablyactually.wordpress.com/

where i talk about the stuff i make

