Blue Barn Farm

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Easter Sewing: For the Girls

Easter 2014

Here’s a little sneak peek at how my Easter sewing is coming along. The girls are (mostly) finished!!! Hooray! Aside from some hand sewing, all four of us girls will be ready for Easter Sunday. Oh and shoes…I really need to get shoes

simply lovely dress

 

First is my dress. I used a simple pdf pattern called “The Simply Lovely Dress”. I got it here. And at the time it was free! I modified the straps to be nursing friendly and I’ll probably wear a cardigan with it. I’m such a cardigan girl. I used a pale blue lightweight linen for the main part and some scraps of mint green cotton for the bias binding/straps. I really liked sewing this dress and could see myself sewing several more.

Oliver + S roller skate dress

fancy pants leggings

 

EC shoe

Second is wee Emma Cate’s ensemble. She’ll be sporting an Oliver + S Roller Skate dress in 6-12 months. Yes, she’s only 3 months old but my baby is huge! And super cute. I decided to keep the dress simple and I didn’t even add the bow to the front. I really like the print on this fabric and I didn’t want to disrupt it. I’m pretty sure the fabric is a Lisette print that I found at JoAnn’s fabrics. As usual, I love Oliver + S patterns. They are so reliably good. The measurements are spot on and the pattern instructions are so clear. I almost always learn something new about construction when I sew Oliver + S. I will definitely make this dress again. It comes together so fast! I’m glad I opted to get the larger sizes too for the older girls. I also made Emma Cate some mustard colored knit leggings using the “Fancy Pants Leggings Pattern” from Titchy Threads. I love these leggings. I’ve made them before but this time I added ruffles and I really like the effect! The knit is interlock and I ordered it from fabric.com. Of course I couldn’t resist making some matching shoes. I found the pattern here. They have tons of shoe patterns and they are all pdfs. The instructions aren’t perfect but if you’re somewhat of an experienced seamstress you can figure it out. They certainly look pretty cute and round out the outfit well.

Figgy's Ethereal dress

Third, is Sylvia’s dress. I used Figgy’s “Ethereal Dress” pattern in size 4/5. Sylvia picked out the pattern herself and wanted three quarter length sleeves. She also wanted it extra long. This pattern was straightforward and fun. I think Sylvia will wear it a lot actually. It’s looser than I thought it might be and if I make it again I may add some ties to the sides so I could cinch it up a bit. It’s very comfy. I made her some leggings out of the mustard colored knit just in case she decided to walk around with her skirt hiked up. She is still somewhat unreliable in the modesty department.
Figgy's Zephyr arm detail

Figgy's Zephyr casing

Fourth, Sasha’s dress is also a Figgy’s pattern–”The Zephyr Sundress” in size 6/7. Of all four dresses, this is the one I changed the most. I made the pattern as is to begin with but I didn’t like how loose the bodice ended up. So, I created a channel in the underarm area and ran a short strip of 3/4 in elastic through it to make it more fitted. I loved the way it turned out. It’s still really comfortable too. I suppose I could have added shirring to the back bodice for a similar effect, however, I find shirring to be kinda itchy. My girls don’t love itchy. I also added a wide ruffle to the bottom of the dress using up some scraps of grey and white slub knit that I picked up from girlcharlee (You can see it in the first picture). That was kind of an afterthought but I think it turned out awesome! I must confess that I didn’t even measure the strip I used for the ruffle. It looked mostly the same width all around and the length seemed ample enough to accommodate gathers. It ended up somewhat asymmetrical (that’s what you get when you don’t measure) but I like it! I’m going to call it good and pretend I planned it. To finish up Sasha’s outfit I sewed up a cardigan out of more of the mustard colored knit (I mostly made up that pattern). She’s a cardigan girl like her Mama! Now it’s on to the boys sewing. I’ll post up my progress on them soon…and hopefully next week I can get some pictures of my little models in their new duds!

4 comments on “Easter Sewing: For the Girls

  1. mikevalstephens
    April 12, 2014

    I love the braided straps on Sasha’s dress. Lovely all around!

  2. Cathy Bahruth Makinson
    April 13, 2014

    Susanna you are amazing…I loved how they all turned out…love the ruffles on the leggings, love the shoes, love the material, love your creativity and gifting!

  3. Stephanie Campbell
    April 15, 2014

    Great job, love the braided straps and the cardigan. I used to sew matching clothes for my five girls…so much fun! Blessings

  4. Suzanne Makinson
    April 28, 2014

    Keep it up! Your reputation is surely safe with me!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2014 by .
Sanae Ishida

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Wiksten

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Made By Rae

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

skirt as top

suō ergo sum :: i sew, therefore i am

Night Knitter

another knitting and sewing blog

probablyactually.wordpress.com/

where i talk about the stuff i make

