Blue Barn Farm

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Florida Moments

When his head crested the surface of the pool and I saw his freckled nose, my heart melted. When he wrapped his long, spindly, eight year old arms around my neck and whispered in my ear, “I love my family!”, I lost my breath for a moment. He whispered it like it was a secret he just couldn’t contain anymore; like he was opening up a corner of his heart and hoping I’d notice. I might have missed it too. Even the smallest distraction could have been enough to pull my thoughts away from those whispered words because in the next minute he was gone, wriggled away like a fish in the water.

ImageThough our trip to Florida was necessitated by the death of our dear Grandma BB, it was also a sweet time with family; full of tender moments and lasting memories.

We celebrated Jackson’s 1st birthday too. He learned to point while we were there and the cadence of his sounds changed. He’s trying to say words. Of course I cried. My baby boy is so big now. I’m not sure how that happened. 

 Image

Maybe that’s why I’m excited about the new “baby” we added to our family on this trip…Meet Sargeant Cooper. He’s a yellow lab. And he’s pretty much awesome. We’ve had quite the saga of puppies/dogs in our life but I think this one is a great fit. 

Image

We saw so much wildlife during our stay on Sanibel Island. Here’s our list:

Dolphins

Stingrays

Florida Panther

Osprey

Pelicans

The girls delighted us with their adventures and perspectives. Sasha referred to the chicken empanadas my mom made for dinner as “pinatas”. We tried not to correct her. Sylvia spent hours “catching” the seagulls on the beach. 

We are headed back home now. I’m anxious to see how our garden is doing without us. I continue to be grateful that my health is improving every day. Sometimes I even have to remind myself that I was gravely ill not long ago. I’m lining up sewing projects for the summer months and planning to enjoy these school free days.

One comment on “Florida Moments

  1. Bonnie Rickards
    June 8, 2012

    It was a treasure having you here with us. You are wise to live in the moment with each of your babies. As always I have tears in my eyes as I read your blog.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2012 by .
Sanae Ishida

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Wiksten

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Made By Rae

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

skirt as top

suō ergo sum :: i sew, therefore i am

Night Knitter

another knitting and sewing blog

probablyactually.wordpress.com/

where i talk about the stuff i make

