Blue Barn Farm

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Saying Goodbye

Image

Two years ago I was fresh in love with Jonathan Makinson, and there were three little hearts in the mix with us. They were unassuming and innocent and sweetly oblivious to most things. They were ages 6, 3, and 2, and like most children they took for granted that everyone would love them. I wasn’t so sure. I knew how tricky it could be to join two families together. Even with our families and the wonderful shared history between them I knew that things might get rocky. To further complicate things, Jonathan and I came together with three children to raise and a grievous record of loss to wade through together. That’s why I will always remember how Jonathan’s grandmother, Joan Bahruth, welcomed my children with open arms and heart. 

One of her first questions for me was: “When are the children’s birthdays?” And see asked because she wanted to make sure she had the right card and gift for each one. She never forgot their birthdays and managed to find the perfect present each time. She welcomed me into the family so completely, but even more significant to me, she welcomed my children. She thought of them as her own great-grandchildren. Instantly. Without reservation. 

This morning we lost her to Jesus after a grueling battle with COPD. She was a treasure and there is a hole in our hearts without her sweet presence. I loved her. We all did…and always will.

Refusing to release a loved one to the peace of death is selfish. I had my own journey with that close to four years ago. It was different and sudden and coming to a place of release took many months. With Grandma BB it was easier to let go and be truly grateful for her journey to heaven. The Bible tells us that we do not grieve like those without hope. We have hope and our Hope does not disappoint.

We love you Grandma BB! You were a strength to so many. You loved your children deeply and your grandchildren without judgement. We aren’t sure Grandpa can be Grandpa without you…but we will be here to remind him, and love him, and help him find his way. We will miss you forever.

2 comments on “Saying Goodbye

  1. Susanna, what can I say? So beautifully stated…may God’s peace surround your household today….and always. Pat

  2. Suzi Olivio
    May 17, 2012

    Lovely words from my lovely girl. I do consider you mine…even if you aren’t really! My prayers are with the whole family. Love and peace, comfort and strength. God is good. Suzi O

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2012 by .
Sanae Ishida

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Wiksten

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Made By Rae

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

skirt as top

suō ergo sum :: i sew, therefore i am

Night Knitter

another knitting and sewing blog

probablyactually.wordpress.com/

where i talk about the stuff i make

