Blue Barn Farm

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Beginnings

This all started when I decided to give up facebook for Lent. I suddenly realized (after the agonizing first few days when I had to fill up all the empty spaces in my day with something other than checking status updates) that I was enjoying the mental quietude. It took another week or so before I honestly thought I should just give up the social networking thing entirely.

I’ve been thinking for some time about how easily I can turn anything into just another item to fill my day, arrest my thoughts, and distract me from the things I actually hold in my heart. Like my children. I hold them in my heart. And I don’t want to live in this cycle of shuffling them from one form of entertainment to another.

Sometimes I think that’s all modern parenting has become. The toys are getting more noisy and more electronically based. Even the school system is picking up the pace and catering to short attention spans. TV shows and cartoons are flashier and faster. Everything seems to be speeding up and people like it that way…well, they seem to. I don’t really think people actually like it though. The absolute rush rush of everything just bankrupts my soul. When I stop and admit that to myself I feel such a sigh of relief.  I don’t want to hurry up and catch up anymore. I don’t want to hurry at all.

I was looking at my eight year old playing his electronic game the other day and wondering how in the world I was going to help him to organically want to do anything else…like play outside or do a puzzle or exercise his mind. I had a vision of this battle morphing into his pre-teen years when he would want to be on facebook all day, chatting with who knows who, and whiling away his hours with a false sense of society. And with this vision came the epiphany….wasn’t that what I was doing? Ouch. It hurt to admit that as truth.

Maybe it isn’t truth for everyone in the social networking scene. I certainly don’t want to make the statement that facebook or any other social networking site is evil or wrong. I’m sure there are many who have the self control to moderately care about such distractions or use them as the tool they can be. I’m not one of those, however.

So, if I am going to have a hope of arresting my children’s hearts and minds with actual interpersonal interactions and not false ones played out on a bright computer screen, I have to act now. I have to be the one to change.  So, I’m walking away from Facebook and Twitter, and anything else that creeps into my life with a false sense of community. I’m still on Pinterest…can’t seem to divorce myself from one huge online bulletin board of ideas.

My answer to all the friends and family who so genuinely want to know what’s going on in our little lives is this blog. Our family blog. Welcome to Blue Barn Farm. I hope you like it. Oh and here are some recent pics of the kids and our activities…If you click on them, they get bigger.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 6, 2012 by .

Navigation

Sanae Ishida

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Wiksten

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Made By Rae

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

skirt as top

suō ergo sum :: i sew, therefore i am

Night Knitter

another knitting and sewing blog

probablyactually.wordpress.com/

where i talk about the stuff i make

